#### **MINUTES**

### FLORIDA SHUFFLEBOARD ASSOCIATION

#### JANUARY 15, 2024-- MELBOURNE, FLORIDA

Opening: The meeting was called to order at 8:10 PM following the Hall of Fame Banquet and induction ceremony at Tropical Haven Mobile Home Park. President Hovatter welcomed everyone. He thanked Tropical Haven for hosting the banquet, the volunteers and donors for a successful event.

Invocation/Pledge: The prayer was given by Marti Noble, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

OATH OF OFFICE: Mike Mitchell, West Coast District; Ron Nurnberger, new Southwest Coast District president and Dotty Koert, Central East Coast District were sworn in by Marti Noble.

Agenda Approval: Motion to accept the Agenda as presented, made by Marti Noble, seconded by Jan Cote and passed.

Roll Call: Absent board members were: Glenn Monroe, KOR, webmaster, TD; Allen Rosetti, president, West Coast District (represented by Mike Mitchell); Ken Offenther, delegate, Southeast Coast District; Bruce Shidler, president Central District (represented by Judy Holloway-Morton); Don Rood, delegate, Central District.

Guest Introduction: President Hovatter welcomed 10 guests.

Minutes: Linda Rebholz made a motion to accept the minutes of the October 14, 2023 meeting, as posted on the website, seconded by Marti Noble and carried.

Treasurer's Report: Greg Jones presented the Treasurer's Report and Consolidated Financial Statement. Motion to accept for audit was made by Joe Inga, seconded by Jerry Holbrook and carried.

# Reports from Executive Board:

- 1. First Vice President Marti Noble had nothing
- 2. Second Vice President Joyce Smith had nothing
- 3. Third Vice President Jan Cote had nothing

This being an abbreviated meeting, motion was made by Marti Noble, seconded by Jan Cote to waive the reports from the district presidents and Standing Committees and passed.

Old Business: None

## **New Business:**

 First Reading-bylaw change: Marti Noble read the ten day notice as submitted by Greg Jones to change Bylaw, Section F: Elective Officers (b) A District Delegate, Vice President and Alternate Delegate are elected to attend with the District President, all Florida State Association meetings, provided in Article V of the By-laws. The Vice President is to act only in the event of the unavailability of the President (change: IN THE EVENT THE VICE PRESIDENT IS UNAVAILABLE, THE DISTRICT PRESIDENT MAY APPOINT ANY DULY ELECTED DISTRICT OFFICER IN THEIR ABSENCE). The Alternate Delegate is to act only in the event of the unavailability of the Delegate but is entitled to vote at District Meetings.

This bylaw change will be voted on in March. Marti noted that there are 16 ten day notices on the website for Rule changes which will also be voted on at the March meeting.

- Approve St. Cloud to CECD: Greg Jones explained that the St. Cloud Shuffleboard Club has
  requested to withdraw from Central District and become a member of the Central East Coast
  District. Approval has been given by the St. Cloud Shuffleboard Club, Central District Board and
  the Central East Coast District Board, however, the FSA board must give the final approval. Greg
  made a motion to approve St Cloud becoming a member of the CECD, effective April 1, 2024,
  seconded by Bob Robinson and passed.
- 3. Approve 2024-2025 Schedule: Marti Noble presented both the 2024-2025 Open Schedule and the 2024-2025 Amateur Schedule. It was decided to approve each schedule separately. Joyce Smith made a motion to approve the open schedule, seconded by Jan Cote. P14B was added to the open schedule as a mixed at Clearwater. Bob Robinson made a motion to accept the amended open schedule adding P14B, seconded by Joe Inga and carried. There was discussion on the Amateur schedule to switch A11 from Lakeland to another club. Bob Robinson made a motion to approve the Amateur schedule if A11 is switched with another Central District club within one week, otherwise the schedule is accepted as presented, seconded by Jan Cote and passed.

Marti made a motion, seconded by Bob Robinson that pre-registration for all Amateur tournaments, beginning with the 2024-2025 season, be discontinued and that each Host Club be responsible for covering the Director's fee should there be a shortfall as a result of the number of players in attendance, and carried

4. Slate of Officers: Joyce Smith and the nominating committee (Joe Inga, & Bruce Shidler) presented the following slate of officers:

President: Marti Noble

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President: Joyce Smith
 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: Jan Cote
 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice President: Kathy Brennan

Secretary: Linda Rebholz Treasurer: Mona Mapes

There being no nominations from the floor for any office, Joe Inga made a motion that nominations cease, seconded by Bob Robinson. The secretary cast the vote and passed. All officers will be installed at the March meeting.

Meeting Adjourned at 9:10 PM

Respectfully submitted by:

Linda Rebholz, Secretary